6 comments on “Poppy, Poppies, and Others

  1. Pingback: Reflections on the Great War #2 | From guestwriters

  2. In Flanders fields the poppies blow
    Between the crosses, row on row,
    That mark our place; and in the sky
    The larks, still bravely singing, fly
    Scarce heard amid the guns below.
    This is the first stanza of a poem by John McCrae from 1915 which my brother recited today at the Tower of London where they installed the last of 880,000 ceramic poppies one for each British and Commonwealth causality in WW1. I understand it was McCrae’s image that led to the poppy becoming the symbol or the fallen. I will post a clip of him reciting it with some pictures.

    Liked by 3 people

    • After I started researching the poppies, I came across one where the flowers appeared to be flowing down the side if a building and out on to the lawn. (And the poem by John McCrae.) This had me remembering a post that you had written some time back about one of your ancestors. (I could be remembering incorrectly, if so my apologies). I hadn’t realized that the poppies were ceramic, though this makes much more sense to me now.
      Your pictures posted are spectacular!

      Like

      • Each poppy has been sold for £25 raising money for Service charities. The biggest scandal for me that hasn’t had the airtime is the number of ex service men who end up in prison for the lack of support when they leave the Service. And did you know the idea of using McCraes image is an American one which we here took on in the 1920s. At least that’s what the Archaeologist told me and he’s rarely wrong about these things!

        Like

      • That is a neat charity idea and I am glad it is for such a good cause.
        You are right, it is a shame what happens to those after their service has ended and end up in prison or homeless, unable to readjust into society. It is heartbreaking to think that they put their life on the line for all of us, and in the end those who need help never get it.
        I did not know that about McCraes, it was a lovely poem.

        Like

  3. Pingback: Coincidences… | For the Love of ...

Leave a Reply

